Senator of the United States of America (1977-2013)

Gained experience as a businessman, involved in the manufacturing of food production equipment, livestock and grain operations. From 1957 to 1960 served in the United States Navy. Member of the Indianapolis Board of School Commissioners from 1964 to 1967. Mayor of Indianapolis from 1968 to 1975. Elected as a Republican to the United States Senate in 1976; then re-elected in 1982, 1988, 1994, 2000, and again in 2006. Served in state administration from 1977 to 2013.
The chairman of the Republican Senatorial Campaign Committee, Committee on Foreign Relations and Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry.
Awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2013.