Professor, Member of the European Parliament, former President of the European Parliament, former Prime Minister of Poland

From 1997 to 2001, served as a Prime Minister of Poland, introduced sweeping reforms in pensions, healthcare, local and regional administration, as well as education and the mining sectors. Acceded Poland to the NATO and made key-steps towards its EU membership.
Since 2004 working in the European Parliament in two Parliamentary Committees: on Foreign Affairs and Industry, Research and Energy. The Chairman of the High Level Reflection Group of Energy Community – an extension of the EU internal energy market to EU’s neighborhood. In 2009 elected as President of the European Parliament. In 2013 elected as an EP rapporteur for the completion of the EU Internal Energy Market.
Prize winner of “White Coal 2006” awarded by the Polish Engineers. In 2012 receiver of the highest Polish state medal – the White Eagle Order.