Chairman of the Euro – Atlantic Security Association

Elected as a Member of the Polish Parliament from 1989 to 2001. From 1992 to 1993 promoted to the position of  the Minister of Defence under Prime Minister Hanna Suchocka, and again from 1997 to  2000 under Prime Minister Jerzy Buzek.
From 2007 to mid-2009, served as the Vice-President of the Foreign Affairs Committee in the European Parliament. Elected as a Vice-President of the Parliament from 2004 to 2007.
Chairman of the International Centre for Democratic Transition’s (ICDT) International Board of Directors as well as member of the administration of the Centre for International Relations, Vice-Chairman of the Asia-Pacific Council and Chairman of the Council of the Institute for ‘Bridges to the East’. A member of the Executive Board for the European Leadership Network (ELN).